The Horse and The Cart

And then I read this:

Keeping a journal or notebook fosters the journal-writing skill, not the fiction-writing skill.
Caro Clarke; the writer’s notebook, or let’s not really write

Oh.

From Ketutar Writing

Ah. I actually think Caro Clarke has a point.  At least I had a ‘flash moment ‘ when I read this.

“Oho, so that’s why I stopped writing fiction when I started journaling…” it’s true. I did. During my days and years in 12 step recovery, I would carry a journal with me everywhere – constantly examining my own feelings, explaining them to myself, processing them in clear text. I only wrote fiction or poetry those times when there was either an ‘overflow’ or I couldn’t get a clear fix ‘intellectually’ on what was going on. Or couldn’t verbalize my innards (inner kid) to myself. Then I would write stories about him or for him.

Instead of exploring my characters’ emotions and actions to understand my own or integrate them with myself, I turned the process on its head, and off course there would be no reason to explore my characters’ emotions and actions once I was directly exploring my own emotions and actions.

Several authors manage to write fiction even though they have a writer’s journal :-D Go ahead and do what ever you like. It’s not that your ideas get stale or die because you write them down in a journal. From Ketutar Writing.

Perhaps. I see your point. But I still feel sad for 15 years of fictional writing lost because I was told to bypass my fictional therapists…

I hope I can unlearn at least some, so the Horse is again in front of the Cart.

2 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo, Writing

2 responses to “The Horse and The Cart

  1. Let’s hope so.
    I have wanted to be a writer since I was 10. That’s 30 “lost years”. Are they lost? No. I might not have written, or managed to finish the first draft, or get anything published… or sort of, not a novel written by only me by a traditional publisher, which right now is “what counts”. I still refuse to count those years as “lost”, because I have been learning, adding my resources, making mistakes I hopefully will not repeat and so on and so forth. :-)

    Like

Say something! :)

