Fidelity

PenFireSmall“No,” he says, “I will not be part of this.” The faces around him smirk. Mutters. Then one by one they turn around and walk away. Finally he is alone with the girl. She is curled up in a corner of the shack, clothes torn, skin bruised, face streaked with tears. He walks over to her, crouches beside her, takes off his coat and tries to wrap it around her. She shrinks back, panic in her eyes. He tries to smile, but his face is frozen in anger. He backs away a step, drops the coat where she can reach it. She grabs it and wriggles into it, eyes not leaving his face even to blink.

“Why?” her voice is slurred and hoarse. “you could have taken as much as the others, why did you not?”

Why had he not, he wonders. After all, she is just a girl from the projects, no-one of consequence. Happens all the time, doesn’t it? So why had he not? Images flashes by. The whole ugly scene replays. He shakes his head to rid it of what he has seen. That is it. Because it is ugly. Because it is not right.

“Because it is not who I am.” He finally says.

This is part of the Reflections at the Magick Tree 12 days of Yule Blog Party

5 Comments

Filed under 12 Days of Yule, Seasonal, Writing, Writing Prompts

5 responses to “Fidelity

  1. I think you are amazing. So much in so few words. Your characters are interesting and alive, even though one doesn’t know much about them…

    Like

  2. Thank you, sweetheart :)
    I have been beating my head since yesterday – how do I write about “Fidelity” – such a Xian word – it has no meaning to me? And then one my file clerks came up with “To Thine Own Self Be True…” – and THAT has meaning to me ;).

    I am glad you like my characters.
    It’s interesting, this entire 12 Days of Yule ‘writing exercise has taught me a lot about my ability to write, and write WELL. I am actually starting to feel that I KNOW HOW TO write.
    <3
    H

    Like

  3. I really like the “because it is not…” repetitions at the end. Good show.

    Like

Say something! :)

